Jamaican Prime Minister in Namibia

22 Jul 2018 16:10pm
WINDHOEK, 22 JUL (NAMPA) – Jamaican Prime Minister (PM), Andrew Michael Holness arrived in Namibia for an official State visit on Sunday and was welcomed by Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah.
The Jamaican PM is accompanied by 11 other government officials including the minister of culture, gender, entertainment and sport and the director of the bilateral relations department in the ministry of foreign affairs and trade.
Holness and his delegation were set to be served with lunch and dinner at State House here on Sunday.
His visit comes after an official invitation from the Government of Namibia early last year - reportedly the first time a Jamaican Head of Government has officially visited Namibia.
The prime minister will be welcomed by a military guard of honour and a 19-gun salute on Monday.
The two countries will address areas of possible bi-lateral cooperation including visa exemption, sport, culture and youth development.
It is expected that the leaders will on Monday sign a Memorandum of Understanding on the establishment of political consultations between both countries.
A business lunch has been arranged for the delegation by the Ministry of Industrialisation, Trade and SME Development at the Hilton Hotel in the capital on Monday.
On Tuesday, Holness will take part in a wreath laying ceremony at Heroes’ Acre after which he will depart Eros Airport to Walvis Bay where he is expected to meet the Jamaican Caribbean community as well as the Namibia-Jamaica-Caribbean Friendship Association.
On Wednesday, the delegation will travel to Johannesburg to meet with global leaders at the 10th BRICS Summit at the Sandton International Convention Centre.
Holness will participate in the BRICS plenary session and BRICS Plus Meeting with Heads of State and Government of BRICS and Heads of State/Government of BRIC Plus countries and the United Nations Secretary General.
The BRICS countries are Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa.