Hardap constituencies to establish Disaster Risk Management Committees

16 Jul 2018 16:00pm
REHOBOTH, 16 JUL (NAMPA) – All six constituencies in the Hardap Region will establish Disaster Risk Management Committees that will conduct community-based disaster risk assessments within the constituencies and report to the responsible councillors, who will act as chairpersons.
The Hardap Regional Council (HRC) under the Disaster Risk Management Unit started a visual education roadshow in the region to raise awareness and educate school children and communities on how to deal with danger incidents.
The initiative was started as per the Disaster Risk Management Act No. 10 of 2012, Subsection 15, which is to provide for the establishment of institutions for disaster risk management in Namibia. Also, to provide for an integrated and coordinated disaster management approach focusing on preventing or reducing the risk of disasters, mitigating the severity of disasters, emergency preparedness, rapid and effective response to disasters and post-disaster recovery.
In a meeting held at #Oan-||Ob Community Hall in the Block E residential area of Rehoboth on Saturday, facilitator and HRC employee, Elsie Petha-Kariseb said the responsibility of the Constituency committees is to integrate constituency disaster risk management plans into the regional disaster plans.
“The committee will prepare and update constituency response and recovery plans and will coordinate disaster risk management activities in the constituencies. They will also need to solicit funds to conduct training and awareness campaigns on disaster risk management,” Petha-Kariseb said.
She said the committee consisting of various stakeholders from governmental institutions such as nurses, teachers, law enforcement officers and agricultural staff should be established to advise the constituents on what to do during disasters.
The awareness campaign focuses mainly on four stages of disaster; prevention, preparedness, response and recovery. Risk management activities include risk mapping, rapid assessment, early warning systems, identifying key actors and establishing emergency contacts and plans for preparedness.
Other sessions will take place on 16 July at Klein Aub and Schlip, followed by Kalkrand and Maltahöhe on 17 and 18 July respectively. The Kriess and Gibeon sessions will be held on 19 July and Mariental on 20 July.