Omaheke Top 8 tourney this weekend

06 Jul 2018 08:00am
WINDHOEK, 06 JUL (NAMPA) – The Omaheke Top 8 tournament will take place at the Legare Stadium in Gobabis this weekend.
Each of the Omaheke Region’s seven constituencies is expected to send eight teams to the competition, but this year only four constituencies are taking part with a total 44 teams registered.
Thirty-one teams registered for football and 13 for netball, one of the organisers of the tournament, Ngatuuane Hange told Nampa after the draw on Wednesday.
Hange however said he is happy with this year’s turnout and thanked the participating constituencies for their commitment.
“This is a very big competition and teams should maintain discipline and respect referee decisions,” he said.
In the football category teams were divided into groups A and B. All Group A matches will be played at the A field, while the B field of the stadium will host Group B matches.
In Group A, the first match will be United Stars against Running Stars, followed by Ovinjuru and Eiseb in the second game. Okonja from Otjinene facing Otjimati are next, followed by Oslek taking on Otjimanangombe.
Pamue Eleven will go up against Ofarama, while two Epukiro-based teams - Okatuuo and Okombomi - will face each other afterwards. Okaoveni will lock horns with Kajalami and Otjijere are up against Omungondo in the last Group A match.
In group B, Ozondjiva will play the first winner of Group A, which will be followed by Kalkpan against Ozombuzovindimba.
Okarui Swallows are up against River United, and Red Fire and Otjinoko will face each other in the following match. Real Madrid will play Otjomisaona with Gauteng confronting Okauua Rovers. Omazonjanda will lock horns with Fine Young Stars and Ovituua will conclude the Group B matches against Fire Eyes.
In netball, the first game will be Real Madrid against Okombomi followed by Eiseb against Okatuuo.
The netball players from Otjimanangombe will face their Otjinoko counterparts in the next game, while Okaoveni will be up against Ovinjuru and Red Fire will face Kalkpan.
Okarui Swallows will play Kajalami and Otjimati will take on the first winner in the quarter-finals.
The football matches will start at 07h00 on Saturday and the netball at 11h00. The tournament is expected to end Sunday.
Okaoveni and Evero won last year’s competition in football and netball respectively.