Art Battle Namibia on Friday

27 Jun 2018 12:10pm
WINDHOEK, 27 JUN (NAMPA) - The third leg of the popular Art Battle Namibia live competitive painting series will take place at the Goethe-Institut in the capital on Friday.
A statement issued by organiser Jaimee-Lee Diergaardt on Wednesday said the first battle of the night starts with a group of learners at 18h00. They are from Windhoek High School, Delta Secondary School, Cosmos High School and St. Paul's College.
“Twelve adult painters will thereafter take each other on for bragging rights,” the statement said.
The winners in both segments will move on to the grand finale in November.
The painters have 20 minutes to complete an artwork with acrylic paint on canvas from scratch in front of an audience, who then vote for the artwork they like the most.
Votes are tallied and the four painters with the most votes in both segments battle it out in the final of the night. The winners in both the high school and adult segments move on to the grand finale, where a trip to participate in Art Battle International is up for grabs.
The winners of the two previous legs are Hage Mukwendja, who won the first event held at the Franco Namibian Cultural Centre in March this year, and Kelsey van Schalkwyk who won the second event held in an empty water reservoir at the Eagles Boma Restaurant in Avis in May.
Diergaardt from Something-Artsy was quoted in the statement as saying the stage is set and they are ready to go.
“There is a huge need for the public to see the process of what an artist does. This will hopefully make them gain a greater respect for the effort and time put into this skilled work,” said Diergaardt, who also runs Paint and Wine events during which she facilitates painting sessions for novice or more advanced painters.
NEO Paints is the official sponsor of Art Battle Namibia.
The participants in the adult segment are Cindel Schoeman; Scharlarco Visagie; Anitta Voland; Ingrid Preuer; Esteban Santana; Naudano Hamunyela; Jeanite Schoeman; Mayke Ewald; Adriaan de Lange; Antje Diener; Charles Mufaya and Ndako Nghipandjelwa.
Entrance is N.dollars 100 at the door. No online tickets are available.