Welwitschias squad against Uganda announced

14 Jun 2018 19:20pm
WINDHOEK, 14 JUN (NAMPA) - The Namibia Rugby Union (NRU) on Thursday announced the Welwitschias squad that will face Uganda in the 2018 Rugby Africa Gold Cup tournament.
The game will be played on Saturday at 15h30 at the Hage Geingob Stadium in Windhoek.
The Rugby Africa Gold Cup, formerly known as the Africa Cup, is organised by Rugby Africa.
The six-team competition is played on a round-robin basis from June to August.
This is a very important tournament for Namibia, bearing in mind the qualification for the 2019 Rugby World Cup during 2018.
During a media conference here on Thursday, national team coach Phil Davies said the team has prepared well and they are looking forward to the big challenge against Uganda.
“We have been in camp for a while. This is going to be a big challenge as Uganda are very good on loose balls, but we will do all we can to try and minimise their attacks on us,” he said.
The Namibian players selected to play against Uganda are Casper Viviers, Orbit Nortje, Johannes Coetzee, Ruan Ludick, Tijuee Uanive, Wian Conradie, Janco Venter, PJ van Lille, Eugene Jantjies, Cliven Loubser, JC Greyling, Darryl de la Harpe, Leslie Klim, Chrysander Botha, Louis van der Westhuizen, Andre Rademeyer, Desiderius Sethie, Johan Retief, Rohan Kitshoff, Damien Stevens, PW Steenkamp, Justin Newman and TC Kisting.
New team captain Johan Deysel said he is honoured to lead the team in this test match against Uganda and is confident that there are a lot of experienced players who will make his job easier on the day.
“We had a great camp in Stellenbosch which will make things easier for us. Playing our first match at home is really important and we will try to do well for our nation,” said Deysel.
Kwese Sport will broadcast the Welwitschias' matches through an agreement signed with the Namibian Broadcasting Corporation.
The other fixtures are as follows:
23 June 2018, Tunisia (home)
30 June 2018, Morocco (away)
04 August 2018, Zimbabwe (away)
18 August 2018 Kenya (home)