Kariseb re-elected as Omaheke Regional Council chairperson

13 Jun 2018 13:30pm
GOBABIS, 13 JUN (NAMPA) – Regional Councillor for the Kalahari Constituency, Ignatius Kariseb was on Tuesday re-elected as chairperson of the Omaheke Regional Council during the election of the management committee.
Kariseb, who has been at the helm of the regional council for the past seven years, is joined by Okorukambe Regional Councillor Raphael Mokaleng and Erwin Katjizeu of Otjinene Constituency on the management team.
Both Mokaleng and Katjizeu were also re-elected.
Kariseb and Mokaleng are representatives of the Swapo Party, while Katjizeu is in on a National Unity Democratic Organisation ticket.
The election was done in terms of Article 109 (3) of the Namibian Constitution, as amended, which requires members of the regional councils to elect, from among themselves, members for the management committees every two years and six months.
The term of the previous management committee, which was elected on 04 December 2015, ended on 03 June 2018.
“Council will continue to invest in the quality of life of its constituents by improving service delivery to uplift their living standards and reducing extreme poverty,” Kariseb said in his acceptance speech.
He informed the electorate that the regional council was working on modalities to improve the condition of houses in the region and implement rural development programmes.
Kariseb further revealed that N.dollars 83.3 million has been allocated by the National Planning Commission for the construction of service infrastructure in all settlements and growth points in the region during the Medium-Term Expenditure Framework, from 2018/2019 to 2020/2021.
The settlements and growth points include Buitepos, Epukiro Post 3, Tallismanus, Summerdown, Aminuis, Omitara, Corridor 13, Tsjaka, Drimiopsis and Eiseb 10.