Namcol appoints new board of governors

04 Jun 2018 18:30pm
WINDHOEK, 04 JUN (NAMPA) - The 11 members of the Namibian College of Open Learning (Namcol) board of governors are expected to collectively direct in the institution mandate to ensure its effectiveness despite economic downturns.
This was said by Minister of Education, Arts and Culture, Katrina Hanse-Himarwa while introducing the appointed board members to Namcol senior staff here on Monday.
They are Justin Ellis, Charlotte Keyter, Kauna Nghisheefa, Hertha Pomuti, Kennedy Urikhob, Tonata Uwanga, Veno Kauaria, Hofni Ipinge, Heroldt Murangi, Sanet Steenkamp and Mitchael Samaria. The members are expected to serve for three years commencing in May this year.
Hanse-Himarwa emphasised that board members need to do more with less to provide leadership in ensuring educational opportunities for adults and out of school youths as required by the institution’s mandate.
“The governing board needs to ensure the institution’s prosperity by collectively directing the institution’s affairs while meeting the appropriate interest of its shareholders and stakeholders,” she said.
Hanse-Himarwa further said the governing board is expected to promote the institution’s culture in the interest of the public at all times by taking the lead in established principles and living up to specific values of the entity and its staff.
“Namcol holds a supreme room in the Namibian Harambee house where each learner deserves an opportunity to education, particularly open and distance education towards the Sustainable Development Goals,” she added.