Stars crowned Debmarine Namibia Cup Champions

20 May 2018 11:10am
WINDHOEK, 20 MAY (NAMPA) – Newly-crowned Namibia Premier League (NPL) champions African Stars made it a double when they clinched their second trophy of the season at the Sam Nujoma Stadium on Saturday afternoon.
Stars beat UNAM 1-0 to become the second holders of the Debmarine Namibia Cup after Gobabis-based NPL outfit Young African won the trophy in its maiden season in 2017.
The University of Namibia outfit on Saturday came to the game well-prepared as they dominated the first half but only managed to get their first shot on target in the 45th minute through Ronald Ketjijere.
Before the half-time break UNAM had a goal disallowed by referee Nehemia Shovaleka for a handball. Heinrich Isaacks’ brilliant pass to Manchester United MacGyver found the back of the net as Stars defender Ivan Kamberipa cleared the ball in his own net after a tussle for the ball with MacGyver but the referee disallowed the goal for a hand ball.
The halftime score was 0-0.
In the second half Stars came out the stronger outfit, dominating most of the possession and were rewarded through a 75th-minute goal by Treasure Kauapirura who came off the bench to head home the decider from Edwin Korokuve’s corner.
Despite attempts from UNAM to equalise Stars goalkeeper Ratanda Mbazuvara kept his side in the game for the remaining minutes of the second half for the win. The Katutura giants walked away with N.dollars 500 000 while UNAM were consoled with N.dollars 250 000.
Stars also walked away with most of the awards on the day. Bobby Samaria won the Coach of the Tournament award which came with N.dollars 15 000. Godwin Jena of Stars and Civics’ Donald Geiseb shared the Top Goal Scorer award, each walking away with N.dollars 10 000 for scoring eight goals.
The Goalkeeper of the Tournament award which came with N.dollars 15 000 went to Mbazuvara of Stars while UNAM FC’s Marcello Papama walked away with the Player of the Tournament award which was valued at N.dollars 20 000.
Shovaleka was crowned the best Referee of the Tournament with a reward of N.dollars 10 000 while Isaskar Boois took home the Assistant Referee of the Tournament award which also carried a price tag of N.dollars 10 000.