Mannetti unveils strong provisional Cosafa squad

15 May 2018 19:40pm
WINDHOEK, 15 MAY (NAMPA) - Namibian senior football coach Ricardo Mannetti has selected a strong squad of 80 per cent local players for the 2018 Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) Cup.
This year’s edition of the regional cup competition is slated for Polokwane, Mpumalanga Province, South Africa from 27 May to 09 June. Namibia will join the competition at the quarterfinal stage against Zambia on 02 June.
Mannetti told Nampa on Monday he will use the core of the African Nations Championship squad who did well, but will mix it up with some South African and Zambian-based players.
“The foreign-based players that I called up have won this competition and Plate final before, so they have a good record at this competition despite us not winning anything last year,” he said.
The coach added that the friendly matches against Lesotho and Swaziland earlier this year helped him select the squad.
“During those two matches I saw which players were ready for the national team. There were players who I thought were ready but they were not and those who I thought were not, completely surprised me and made the preliminary squad, but I am not sure if they will make the final squad,” he said.
The 2015 Cosafa Cup winning coach called up a 23-man squad of whom six play in South Africa and one in Zambia.

The preliminary squad:
Goalkeepers: Ratanda Mbazuvara (Black Africa), Maximillian Mbaeva (Golden Arrows), and Edward Maova (Civics)

Defenders: Ferdinand Karongee (Tigers), Vitapi Ngaruka (Young African), Tiberius Lombard (Lusaka Dynamos) Danzil Haoseb (Jomo Cosmos), Donovan Kanjaa (Young African), Riaan Hanamub (Orlando Pirates), Charles Hambira (Tura Magic), Emilio Martin (Black Africa), Ananias Gebhardt (Jomo Cosmos), Ikuatera Hoveka (Young African).

Midfielders: Dynamo Fredericks (Black Africa), Ronald Ketjijere (African Stars), Gustav Isaak (Tigers), Wangu Gome (Platinum Stars), Marcel Papama (UNAM), Deon Hotto (Golden Arrows) and Absalom Iimbondi (Tigers).

Strikers: Willem Pinehas (Eleven Arrows), Peter Shalulile (Highlands Park), and Panduleni Nekundi (African Stars)