North-East Stream First Division league kicks-off

07 May 2018 12:50pm
REHOBOTH, 07 MAY (NAMPA) – Rounds one and two of the North East Stream First Division (NESFD) football league will take place this coming weekend with games scheduled to be played at Nkurenkuru, Oshikango, Bagani, Rundu and Katima Mulilo.
The games were initially scheduled to kick off in April but had to be postponed due to administrative issues within the three Nationwide First Division streams.
NESFD chairperson, Mpasi Haingura confirmed the kick-off on Monday, saying they wanted to have the matches played during the past weekend, but could not as the referees were already assigned for Namibia Premier League (NPL) duties.
“It was resolved at the Namibia Football Association (NFA) meeting in Omuthiya last month that the NFA will fund each stream with N.dollars 666 000. We have divided our stream into pools of two, with six teams in each group,” Haingura explained the format, saying this was done to save on traveling costs and for the league to finish on time.
“We are in a race against time to finish before the 2018 International Federation of Football Associations (FIFA) World Cup and thus, the two pool winners will play in home and away matches to determine which team will be promoted automatically to the Namibia Premier League.”
The two pool winners will have a play-off for promotion to the NPL in the second week of June, while the sixth-placed teams in each group will be relegated, Haingura said.
The full fixtures are as follows:

Saturday 12 May, Round One – Pool A
Black Hawks vs Ntunguru, 14h00 Katima Mulilo Sports Stadium
Eastern Chiefs vs Kangweru Black Tops 14h00 Bagani Stadium
Bingo vs United Stars, 16h00 Rundu Sports Stadium
Pool B
K. K United vs Young Ranger 14h00 Nkurenkuru Stadium
Oshikango Chiefs vs Benfica 14h00 Ohangwena Stadium

Sunday 13 May, Round Two – Pool A
Black Hawks vs Kangweru United 11h00 Katima Mulilo Stadium
Eastern Chiefs vs Ntunguru 11h00 Bagani Stadium
Julinho Sporting vs CucaTops 15h00 Rundu Sports Stadium
Pool B
Oshikango Chiefs vs Young Rangers 11h00 Ohangwena Stadium
K. K United vs Benfica 11h00 Nkurenkuru Stadium