Appollis and Van den Bergh win national bowling championships

07 May 2018 11:50am
WINDHOEK, 07 MAY (NAMPA) - Piet Appollis and Marietjie van den Bergh were on Saturday crowned national champions at the 40th anniversary of the Namibia Bowling Association nationals that were hosted in the capital.
The national lawn bowling championships took place from 28 April to 5 May 2018 at the Windhoek Bowling Club, the Eros Bowling Club and TransNamib Bowling Club.
The preliminary rounds of all the disciplines and semi-finals were staged at the Eros and TransNamib Bowling Clubs while the Windhoek Bowling Club played host to the finals on Saturday.
Despite winning the individual award in the womenÂ’s singles play, Van den Bergh also won female player of the tournament as well as a gold in the triples and a silver in the fours play.
Will Esterhuizen, meanwhile, was crowned the male player of the tournament after winning a silver in the singles play before going on to win golds in the pairs, triples and fours plays.
In the veteran category, Kiewiet Rust won gold while Horst Zimny took silver in the male category and in the female category, Jean Joubert and Annelize Opperman took gold and silver respectively in the singles play.
Singles Plate winner was AJ Visser and Christo de Beer took silver in the male category while Jacomien Diederiks and Miele van der Merwe won in the female category respectively.
The Novice Singles winners were Ronan Olivier and Steven Ogden who walked away with silver in the male category. In the female category, Marinda Bezuidenhout was crowned champion while Wilet de Jager was the runner-up.
Below are the winners of the national championships.
Pairs (Male); Will Esterhuizen and Axel Krahenbuhl
Pairs (Female); Jenny Esterhuizen and Avril Kotze
Triples (Male); Will Esterhuizen, Axel Krahenguhl and Willie Esterhuizen
Triples (Female); Marietjie van den Bergh, Amanda Steenkamp and Monika Gibbons.
Fours (Male); Will Esterhuizen, Axel Krahenbuhl, Willie Esterhuizen and Otto Krahenbuhl
Fours (Female); Alma Moller, Kobie Heesakkers, Renette de Kock and Truda Meaden