African Stars crowned 2017/18 NPL champions

15 Apr 2018 18:30pm
WINDHOEK, 15 APR (NAMPA) – African Stars Football Club (FC) were crowned 2017/18 Namibia Premier League (NPL) title winners, following a 2-1 victory over 10-man defending champions, Tigers, at the Sam Nujoma Stadium on Saturday afternoon.
Ambrosius Amseb was the hero with two well-taken second-half goals in the 47th and 75th minutes.
Tigers had taken the lead in the first half when Absalom Iimbondi’s shot was diverted into the net by an alert Gustav Isaak in the 35th minute.
The match was played at a fast pace, with both teams having a go at each other.
Amseb could have scored more goals but he missed two chances in either half of the game.
Tigers suffered a setback when Esko Kavela was sent off in the 68th minute for a second yellow card, following a bad tackle on Amseb.
Tigers could have spoiled the party for Stars but Mapenzi Muwanei’s shot crashed against the upright in the 87th minute, before his overhead kick flew over the crossbar.
The league’s current top scorer, Panduleni Nekundi, blasted his effort over the bar after being put through by Ronald Ketjijere later in the game as Stars looked to finish off the game.
Stars, who came into the weekend needing six points to clinch the title, achieved their goal by beating Tura Magic on Saturday at the same venue.
Bobby Samaria was happy with the win, and paid tribute to all their opponents in the league.
“We could not have done it alone or in any better way. The other teams pushed us hard until today. There was no day I thought we would lose it, eventhough we lost games which I felt we should not have lost,” said Samaria.
Winning captain Pat-Nevin Uanivi dedicated the title to the fans, saying they had played a huge role in Stars’ winning the title.
“We did it for our fans who pushed us very hard during the season. The players also deserve this today because they were focused on winning the title back and what a way to do it by beating the defending champions,” he said.
Stars also won the league in the 2008/09, 2009/10, and 2014/15 seasons.
The NPL is expected to take a break this coming weekend as teams shift their focus to the Debmarine Namibia Cup, which Samaria said is now their target.