Mensah elected as NRU president

09 Apr 2018 12:20pm
WINDHOEK, 09 APR (NAMPA) – Western Suburbs president Corrie Mensah was on Saturday elected as the new president of the Namibia Rugby Union (NRU).
He replaces Bradley Basson who was the union’s president for the past six years. One term of the NRU presidency is three years.
Mensah was elected during an electoral congress by the NRU and its affiliates, held in Windhoek.
Other members elected to serve in the new NRU executive committee are Ivan Gaya (vice president: rugby), Etienne Coetzee (vice president: governance), Johan Ockhuizen (Hardap Region), James Camm (Khomas Region), Edwin Coetzee (Auas), David van Kradenburg (Southern regions), Chandler Plato (Western regions), Jacky Husselman (Namibia referees society), Abie van Wyk (Namibia school sport rugby), Werner Jeffrey (Tisan) and Corne Powell (Namibia rugby players’ union). The position for the Northern regions is still vacant.
In his acknowledgement speech after being elected, Mensah thanked those who voted for him and called on the rugby loving people and administrators to bury their differences and start working together.
“Our full commitment towards serving rugby to the best of our abilities and running the affairs of the NRU on behalf of council is required,” he said.
The council is made up of representatives of the different rugby clubs.
Mensah, one of the rugby administrators who previously established a “concerned group”, promised that he will do everything in his power to create an atmosphere that will prevent the forming of another concerned group.
“I promise council that I will see to it that the board instructs board members to at least meet once every three months with council members in their various conferences and report back to the board,” he said.