Isaacs names squad for Zimbabwe clash

02 Apr 2018 13:10pm
By Maqonda Ndlovu
WINDHOEK, 02 APR (NAMPA) – Brave Gladiators head coach Brian Isaacs has named 22 players who will represent Namibia in the 2018 Africa Women Cup of Nations qualifier against Zimbabwe at Windhoek’s Sam Nujoma Stadium on 05 April.
On the list made available to Nampa following a practice session at the same venue on Sunday, Isaacs included three foreign-based players - Zenatha Coleman (Real Zaragoza, Spain); Veweziwa Kotjipati (Tus Lipperode, Germany) and Annoushka Kordom (Corbon Warriors, USA).
Speaking to Nampa after the session, Isaacs said one foreign-based player, Sandra Starke could not make it as she is currently in hospital in Germany.
“Preparations are going well and all the foreign-based players took part in our first training session yesterday with the rest of the team,” he added.
Isaacs said competition for places is healthy despite the fact that he did not have a broad base to select from due to the absence of a competitive league.
He further stressed that he has a core group of players who will form part of the first 11 players to start, but they will continue looking at the rest of the group to assess who will make it in the starting line-up as well.
The coach said he had an idea of how opponents Zimbabwe play after he watched them during the Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) Cup last year at their home ground.
Namibia participated in the same tournament and failed to progress beyond the group stages, while Zimbabwe lost in the finals by 2-1 to South Africa.
Isaacs called on football-loving Namibians to support the Brave Gladiators on Saturday, saying this is an opportunity for Namibia to kick-start interest in women’s football in the country.
The tournament will be held in Ghana from 17 November to 01 December 2018.
It also doubles as the African qualifiers to the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup. The top three teams will qualify for the World Cup in France.
The following players were selected:
Melissa Matheus; Agnes Kauzuu; Uerikondjera Kasaona; Ndapewa Katuta; Ester Amukwaya; Lovisa Mulunga; Eddelsisingh Naris; Stacey Naris; Lorraine Jossob; Elmarie Fredericks; Tomalina Adams; Juliana Blou; Anna-Marie Shikusho; Annoushka Kordom; Beverly Uueziua; Veweziwa Kotjipati; Millicent Hikuam; Zenatha Coleman; Memory Ngonda; Twelikondjela Amukoto; Faustina Amutenya and Lydiana Nanamus.