NBF Northern Committee forms schools league

14 Feb 2018 18:50pm
ONGWEDIVA, 14 FEB (NAMPA) – The Namibia Basketball Federation (NBF) Northern Committee is determined to popularise basketball in high and primary schools in the Oshana Region where it formed a schools’ league last year.
Speaking to Nampa on Wednesday, a member of the committee, Kilian Stahlhut said only four primary school basketball teams from within Ongwediva joined the league last year.
“The number of primary school teams has increased to eight this year, and we have at the same time added the high school league for the first time this year,” Stahlhut said.
The high school league also consists of eight teams. The committee currently caters for school teams that are from the Oshana Region due to the lack of a sponsor, but it is considering the extension of the league to other northern regions once sponsorship is secured.
“The league is currently funded with our own resources and as such, we are appealing to companies, organisations or individuals to offer us some sponsorships for the further development of our game,” Stahlhut cited.
The league for this year started last weekend at the Valombola Vocational Training Centre (VVTC) court, but the good rains received in the area forced the committee to shift some of the games to this weekend.
It will run until 19 March to allow school children to prepare for the examinations. Stahlhut said the second leg of the league will start in June and end 08 July when its activities for the year will end.
The primary school league teams are Ongwediva Control Combined School (CS), Charles Anderson CS 1, Charles Anderson CS 2, Hashiyana CS, Erundu CS, Kleine Kuppe Private School, Liberty Heritage Private School and Oshakati West Primary School.
Mweshipandeka High School, Oshakati Secondary School (SS), Ekwafo SS, Iipumbu SS, Gabriel Taapopi Senior Secondary School (SSS) 1, Gabriel Taapopi SSS 2, Eheke SS and Evululuko SS are the teams playing in the high school league.