Tigers FC rewards players for national duty

13 Feb 2018 16:20pm
WINDHOEK, 13 FEB (NAMPA) – The chairperson of Namibia Premier League (NPL) defending champions Tigers Football Club, Vaino Nghipondoka on Tuesday rewarded his players for representing the club at national level.
Tigers are currently 14th on the NPL log standing after 13 matches played in the first leg of the season.
Four of their players were selected to represent the country at the 2018 African Nations Championship in Morocco last month.
They are Absalom Iimbondi, Benyamin Nenkavu, Ferdinand Karongee and Roger Katjiteo.
The players were given monetary rewards, with Iimbondi walking away with N.dollars 10 000, while the other three players received N.dollars 7 000 each.
Iimbondi’s reward was higher because of the goal he scored for Namibia against Zambia in the group stages of the championship.
During the handing over in the capital, Nghipondoka called on the players to continue doing well for the club and the national team when needed.
“Your presence in the national team as Tigers players made us proud and I am therefore calling on all Tigers players to follow in your footsteps. I will not hate it if we can have half of the national team or the whole starting 11 made up of Tigers players,” he said.
He added that the incentive given to the players should be seen as motivation for others to do well for themselves and get noticed by national selectors.
The club chairperson also stated that despite Tigers’ struggle in the first leg, he is hopeful that their fortunes will change when the second leg of the NPL kicks off on Thursday at the Sam Nujoma Stadium in Katutura.
“I am now going to be more involved in the players’ well-being. Let’s forget what happened in the first leg where we lost nine games because blaming each other for those defeats will not take us anywhere,” said Nghipondoka.
At the same event, Tigers Football Club also unveiled their new signings - Esko Kavela, a former Tigers player who was re-registered; Brendon Kotungondo from Flying Eagles FC, Bradley Wermann from African Stars, Jackson Johannes from Young Chiefs and Da Costa Angula and Brian Bantam, both from Black Africa.