Mutorwa appoints new CAB members

08 Feb 2018 15:00pm
WINDHOEK, 08 FEB (NAMPA) – Outgoing Minister of Agriculture, Water and Forestry, John Mutorwa, unveiled the new members of the Cooperatives’ Advisory Board (CAB) here on Thursday.
Mutorwa said the new board should fully understand their mandate and function by familiarising themselves with the cooperative policy and the Cooperative Act of 1996 (Act Number 23 of 1996).
“Many a time board members do not know what they are expected to do soon after appointment and thus are advised to read laws and duty descriptions in order to execute their obligations with dignity,” he stressed.
Mutorwa added that the Cooperative Act and policy are guiding tools of cooperatives in achieving maximum success and urged the board to function in accordance with the laws, policies and procedures thereof.
“All board members shall act in accordance with set requirements of the law because Namibia is a country governed by the law,” he said.
He told the board they represent constituencies and therefore are required to continuously link with them on a daily basis.
The ceremony served as Mutorwa’s last public appearance as Minister of Agriculture, Water and Forestry as he is imminently expected to take up his new role as Minister of Works and Transport.
Presenting his acceptance statement, newly appointed CAB Chairperson, Stanley Nyembo, said he is honoured to represent Namibia’s cooperatives’ and vowed to work hard with honour and dedication in cooperation with all cooperatives.
“I think the future of cooperatives is in good hands and with this dynamic team, we will drive cooperatives to greater heights,” he added.
The new board, which will have a term of three years, consists of Fabiana Biwa (Vice-Chairperson); Magdalena Hangula; Charlina Mu-!Adago Xawes; Alberth Kanime; Nicolas Hibbert; Isak Ouseb; Mwanyehengwange Amunyela; Michel Mallet; Kingsley Kwenani; Sonja Molebugi and Lydia Likando.