Geingob announces Cabinet reshuffle

08 Feb 2018 11:10am
WINDHOEK, 08 FEB (NAMPA) – President Hage Geingob on Thursday announced a Cabinet reshuffle.
Speaking during the official opening of the first Cabinet meeting of 2018, Geingob said Vice President Nicky Iyambo has stepped down due to ill health and is being replaced by former Secretary General of the ruling Swapo Party, Nangolo Mbumba.
Immanuel Ngatjizeko takes over as Minister of Presidential Affairs from Frans Kapofi, who is now the Minister of Home Affairs and Immigration.
Alpheus !Naruseb and John Mutorwa are swopping roles, with !Naruseb heading the Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Forestry and Mutorwa taking his place as the Minister of Works and Transport.
The Ministry of Information and Communication Technology will be led by Stanley Simataa, a position previously occupied by Tjekero Tweya who is now the Minister of Industrialisation, Trade and SME Development.
Former Attorney General, Sacky Shanghala has been moved to head the Ministry of Justice with Albert Kawana replacing him as the newly appointed AG.
Minister of Mines and Energy, Obeth Kandjoze will occupy the dual position of Director General of the National Planning Commission and Minister of Economic Planning, replacing Tom Alweendo who is now the new Minister of Mines and Energy.
The former Deputy Minister of International Relations, Peya Mushelenga takes over from former Minister of Urban and Rural Development, Sophia Shaningwa, the current Swapo Party Secretary General.
Erastus Utoni will occupy the Minister of Sport, Youth and National Service portfolio, replacing Jerry Ekandjo who was given his marching orders.