Swapo’s Bethanie branch revived

17 Nov 2013 14:30pm
KEETMANSHOOP, 17 NOV (NAMPA) – The Swapo-Party leadership in the //Karas Region last week elected new office-bearers for its Bethanie Branch in an effort to revive the party’s activities there.
Swapo’s regional coordinator here, Matheus Mumbala told Nampa on Sunday that no party meetings, fundraising activities and campaigns have taken place at the branch since last year.
The regional coordinator said the Bethanie Branch became dormant after branch coordinator Frederick Jansen moved to the Noordoewer settlement for work purposes last year, and as such the party had to find a replacement for him.
“The Swapo-Party Constitution clearly states that you cannot lead if you stay outside the branch you are assigned to. Thus, the situation is clear, we had to elect a new leader,” Mumbala reiterated on Sunday.
Jansen, who led the branch since 2009, agreed to be replaced, because he now stays far away from the branch.
He was replaced by Amalia Hatzkin during a district conference which took place on 10 November.
The position of Information and Mobilisation Officer is now occupied by Aubrey Helmut, replacing Ephraim Boois, while Theophilus Kamakuva is the new Treasurer, a position previously held by Lena Brandt.
Mumbala added that during the conference, the Swapo Party recruited three new members who previously supported the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP).