New NTA board members appointed

17 Jan 2018 18:20pm
WINDHOEK, 17 JAN (NAMPA) - The Namibia Training Authority (NTA) has appointed 10 new board members to serve on a three-year term.
The board includes the Acting Chairperson, Raimo Naanda; Amon Ngavetene; Michelle Van Wyk; Maryke Krohne; Eva-Liza Nailenge; Cornelis Beuke; Mateus Haakuria; Barbara van der Westhuizen; Petrina Nghidengwa and Michael Mutonga.
Making the announcement at their inauguration in the capital, Minister of Higher Education, Training and Innovation, Itah Kandjii-Murangi said the board should provide critical interventions to transform vocational education and training from the negative perception that it is for those who could not perform in secondary education.
Kandjii-Murangi emphasised that the interventions should ensure that trainers and management are upskilled, enhance collaboration with industries and ensure work-based learning for trainees among others.
“It is common knowledge that economies are transformed by small and medium enterprises and skills are a critical driver. Therefore, we need rapid critical interventions to transform the negative perception toward the training centre,” she said.
Kandjii-Murangi stressed that limited resources, amendment of the Vocational Education Training Act and the lack of job attachment opportunities should become challenges of the past.