Oshakati Council re-elects Iiyambo as mayor

06 Dec 2017 17:00pm
OSHAKATI, 06 DEC (NAMPA) – The mayor of Oshakati, Angelus Iiyambo, and other political office bearers of the town’s seven-member council were re-elected in their positions during a special meeting held here on Wednesday.
Chairperson of the management committee (MC), Gabriel Kamwanka, nominated Iiyambo to continue as the town mayor for the next 12 months, and his nomination was seconded by the town’s deputy mayor, Ndamononghenda Hamunyela, without any objection.
Iiyambo in turn nominated Hamunyela to remain his deputy, while an ordinary member of the council, Katrina Shimbulu, nominated Kamwanka to continue as the MC’s chairperson.
Another member of the MC, Loise Shivolo seconded the nomination for Kamwanka to remain in his position, while Johannes Shilongo was nominated by Hamunyela, also to remain serving in the three-member MC.
Shimbulu, from the ruling Swapo Party, and Linus Tobias from the official opposition, the Popular Democratic Movement (PDM), are the two ordinary members of the council.
Tobias is the only member in the Oshakati Council who is not from the ruling party.
Delivering his acceptance address, Iiyambo said his aim was to work hard to attract investment to Oshakati, to meet with delegations and potential investors and to create jobs, in order to change the living standard of the residents of the town.
“I am boundlessly grateful to be voted into this position by my fellow honourable councillors and will uphold my responsibilities,” he said.
Local magistrate Mikka Namweya presided over the Oshakati Town election process.