Three members in CC an achievement: Kavari

30 Nov 2017 13:10pm
WINDHOEK, 30 NOV (NAMPA) – The three members in the Swapo Party’s Central Committee (CC) from the Kunene Region represent a huge achievement, the party’s coordinator for that region, Tuarungua Kavari, has said.
In an interview with Nampa on Thursday Kavari said that although they had three members in the previous CC, two of them, Bernadette Maria Jagger and the late Kunene Governor, Angelika Muharukua were selected by the president to be on the CC.
“I should admit that as region we have done pretty well as our members in the CC this time were voted by congress,” Kavari said.
Former minister of Environment and Tourism, Uahekua Herunga, Jagger and Kavari are the trio representing the region in the CC.
Chairperson of the Kunene Regional Council (KRC), Kaujova Julius, Matundu Jenelly, Adams Cornelia, Isai Katambo and Agnes Kahimbona Musaso did not make it to the CC.
The sixth ordinary congress of the ruling party, which took place from Thursday to Sunday last week, elected Geingob as president; Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah as vice-president and Sophia Shaningwa as secretary-general (SG) and Marco Hausiku as deputy SG.