UPDATE: Hage wins Swapo presidency

27 Nov 2017 05:40am
WINDHOEK, 27 NOV (NAMPA) – President Hage Geingob and his slate scooped the top four positions of the Swapo party.
Geingob won the presidency position with a resounding 574 votes, beating Jerry Ekandjo who received 153 votes and Nahas Angula with 39 votes.
This was announced by elections’ Returning Officer, Sisa Namandje at about 04h30 Monday following voting done on Sunday at a local hotel.
The position of vice-president was won by Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah with 552 votes, with Pendukeni Iivula-Ithana obtaining 194 votes and Helmuth Angula 20 votes.
Sophia Shaningwa won the secretary-general (SG) position after getting 532 votes, with Armas Amikwiyu coming in second with 243 votes.
Marco Hausiku scooped the deputy SG position with 545 votes, while Petrina Haingura and Martha Namundjebo-Tilahun obtained 118 and 102 votes, respectively.
Over 700 delegates attended the four-day 6th Swapo Party Ordinary Congress which started on Thursday.