Top performing cyclists in Nedbank series awarded

24 Nov 2017 10:00am
WINDHOEK, 23 NOV (NAMPA) – Top performing cyclists were on Wednesday rewarded for their efforts in the 2017 Windhoek Pedal Power (WPP) Road Cycling series.
Nedbank Namibia was the main sponsor of the seven-leg series in which about 246 cyclists took part.
A total of N.dollars 127 000 was handed over to various individuals and teams.
Pierre du Plooy, the WPP chairperson, said during the awards ceremony this year they introduced team cycling and 17 enthusiastic teams signed up.
“This improved our cyclists’ performance as evidenced by the times they clocked,” said Du Plooy.
He added that previously, cyclists would clock top speeds of 40 kilometres per hour (km/h) but after the introduction of teams, times improved to 43 km/h.
Du Plooy said that Namibian teams are also able to now compete outside the country, as evidenced by the Namibian Cleaning Chemical Solutions Pro Cycling Team that finished third overall in the fifth edition of the popular MTN Khemani Road Classic in Swaziland.
Next year, Du Plooy said, they aim to make the competition more exciting by increasing the number of cyclists for the teams from five to six.
“We are also going to take road racing outside Windhoek, with races taking place in Rehoboth in the first half of the season and Tsumeb in the second half,” he noted.
Nedbank Namibia Chief Operating Officer Richard Meeks said his company is committed to supporting cycling in the country.
“At Nedbank we are passionate about cycling, which is why we are proud to host the country’s premier cycling events: the fun and inclusive Nedbank Cycle Challenge and the iconic Nedbank Desert Dash, which is around the corner,” he said.
Meeks added that there is much work needed in creating safer opportunities for cyclists as well as creating awareness and education for all road users, bikes and cars alike, to respect road rules and each other on the road.

Below are some of the winners of the WPP Series 2017

Elite Men
Drikus Coetzee – gold medal and N.dollars 5 000
Cuff Ingram – silver medal and N.dollars 2 500
Andre de Klerk - silver medal and N.dollars 2 500
Chiponeni ‘Fiffy’ Kashululu – bronze and N.dollars 2 000

Elite Women
Michelle Doman – gold medal and N.dollars 5 000

Denzel de Koe – gold medal and N.dollars 2 500
Diego Izaaks – silver medal and N.dollars 1 500

Junior Men
Schalk van der Merwe – gold medal and N.dollars 2 000
Marcel Holtz – gold medal and N.dollars 2 000
Alex Buchner – bronze medal and N.dollars 750

Junior Women
Steffanie Grossmann – gold medal and N.dollars 2 500
Tanya Mackensen – silver medal and N.dollars 1 500