Team Harambee takes campaign to Otjozondjupa

13 Nov 2017 10:50am
GROOTFONTEIN, 13 NOV (NAMPA) - President Hage Geingob and three of his running mates for the top four positions in Swapo on Sunday took their campaign to the Otjozondjupa Region.
Nearly 5 000 people attended the campaign event at the Grootfontein Sports Stadium. These included delegates to the 6th Swapo Ordinary Congress set for 23 to 26 November in Windhoek, where elections for the leadership will be held.
In his address, Geingob, who is campaigning for the position of Swapo president, said the purpose of the meeting was not to hold a political rally, but to meet with delegates to the congress.
“However, the stadium is this full so let us celebrate the victory together, and thank you all for coming here to support us,” he said.
Geingob is acting president of the party since April 2015 when Hifikepunye Pohamba resigned as leader of the ruling party, some 30 days after he handed over State power to Geingob.
The other three candidates are Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of International Affairs Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah, who is contesting for the position of vice-president; Minister of Urban and Rural Development Sophia Shaningwa, who is vying for the position of secretary-general (SG); while Swapo-party School Rector and former deputy Prime Minister (PM) Marco Hausiku will run for deputy SG.
“These are all tested cadres of the party and are contesting for the internal Swapo-party top positions, so go there and vote for them,” said Geingob.
He then called all congress delegates who were present at the event to come forward, so that he could see them.
The four candidates, unofficially known as ‘Team Harambee’ in reference to the Harambee Prosperity Plan (HPP) launched by Geingob in May 2016, also delivered their campaign promises, including how they will handle internal affairs once voted into power.
They are contesting against a group called ‘Team Swapo’, which comprises former PM Nahas Angula and Minister of Youth, Sports and National Service Jerry Ekandjo, who are both contesting the presidency.
Team Swapo also consists of former Minister of Works and Transport Helmuth Angula and home affairs minister Pendukeni Iivula-Ithana, who are both running for vice-president; as well as Swapo Oshikoto Regional Coordinator Armas Amukwiyu who hopes to become SG. Petrina Haingura, a former deputy minister of Health and Social Services, and local businesswoman Martha Namundjebo-Tilahun will also contest the deputy SG position.