Revised curriculum for basic education announced

09 Nov 2017 19:00pm
WINDHOEK, 09 NOV (NAMPA) – The Ministry of Education, Arts and Culture on Thursday shared the revised curriculum for basic education with stakeholders.
It is in line with the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goal 4 which aims to ensure inclusive and quality education for all and promote lifelong learning.
Speaking during the information sharing meeting, education minister Katrina Hanse-Himarwa said the revised syllabus for Grade 10 will be implemented in 2019, Grade 11 in 2020 and Grade 12 in 2021.
The revised curriculum for the Junior Primary phase was implemented in 2015; Senior Primary phase in 2016; Junior Secondary phase in Grade 8 this year, while the Senior Secondary phase will take effect in Grade 9 next year.
Hanse-Himarwa said the curriculum aims to develop a caring society to foster the highest moral and ethical values as well as cooperation among others.
“The Social Sciences learning area is a key learning area for understanding the development of society, mechanisms of globalisation, importance of human rights and democracy and environmental issues”.
Therefore, Environmental Learning will be taught to pre-primary learners;
Environmental Studies (grades 1 to 3);
Social Studies (grades 4 to 7);
Religious and Moral Education (pre-primary to Grade 9);
Life Skills (grades 4 to 12);
Geography (grades 8 to 12);
History (grades 8 to 12);
Development Studies (grades 10 and 11).
The minister said the curriculum has also been adjusted to develop a healthy society, hence the introduction of the Natural Sciences learning area to drive the transformation of society and the world.
Natural Sciences comprises Natural Science and Health Education (grades 4 to 7);
Elementary Agriculture (grades 5 to 7)
Life Science (grades 8, 9)
Physical Science (grades 8,9)
Agricultural Science (grades 8 to 12)
Biology (grades 10 to 12)
Physics (grades 10 to 12)
Chemistry (grades 10 to 12).
“The subject Health and Social Care for Grade 10 and 11 is introduced in the curriculum to prepare learners who wish to follow a career in a health and social care environment,” she said, adding that Physical Education remains in the syllabus for learners from pre-primary to Grade 11) and Mathematics for grades 1 to 12.
In terms of developing a productive society, Commerce was introduced and comprises Entrepreneurial Skills which was integrated in the subjects of Home Ecology, Elementary Agriculture, and Design and Technology for grades 5 to 7.
It also includes Entrepreneurship (grades 8 to 12);
Accounting (grades 8 to 12);
Business Studies (grades 10 to 12);
Economics (grades 10 to 12);
Office Practice (grades 8 to 11).
Hanse-Himarwa noted that Arts are also essential, thus will be offered from pre-primary level to Grade 11;
Visual Arts (grades 8,9);
Integrated Performing Arts (grades 8 to 11);
Art and Design (grades 10 to 12).
She said other subjects crucial for a productive society are Material Technologies which includes Design and Technology (grades 5 to 12);
Technical Studies A, Technical Studies B and Technical Studies C (grades 8,9);
Metalwork and Welding, Woodwork, Building Studies, Motor-Mechanics (grades 10,11);
Fashion and Fabrics (grades 8 to 11);
Home Ecology (grades 5 to 7);
Home Economics (grades 8 to 11);
Hospitality (grades 8-11).
The minister said Mother Tongues/First Languages will be offered from pre-primary to Grade 12, while second languages from grades 1 to 12, foreign languages (grade 8 to 12); as well as Namibian Sign language.
Hanse-Himarwa further said because information and communication technology are applied to serve development goals, it is included in the curriculum for grades 5 to 12;
Office Practice (grades 8 to 11);
Computer Studies (grades 8 to 11);
Computer Science (Grade 12).