Indongo wins big at NSC sports awards

28 Oct 2017 13:00pm
WINDHOEK, 28 OCT (NAMPA) – Julius ‘Blue Machine’ Indongo was the biggest winner at the Mobile Telecommunications Limited (MTC) Namibia Sports Commission (NSC) annual sports awards held here Friday night, winning the sportsman and sports star of the year awards.
This follows a trailblazing year for the Namibia boxer who became a double world champion and fought in a unification bout within 12 months.
For being sportsman of the year, Indongo received a floating trophy and prize money totalling N.dollars 100 000, while for being sports star of the year, he received N.dollars 200 000 and a floating trophy.
“This is the best time of my life. It has been 16 years coming and I am really happy,” he said after receiving his trophies.
Other winners on the night include Helalia Johannes, who won the sportswoman of the year award and received the N.dollars 100 000 prize.
Jacky Shipanga was awarded the NSC Excellency Chairman’s award of a cash prize of N.dollars 30 000, while Otniel Hembapu walked away with N.dollars 30 000 as Sports Journalist of the year.
Despite the absence of an active football league, Jackson Pavaza walked away with the umpire/referee of the year award of N.dollars 30 000, while Nestor Tobias was named coach of the year and got a similar amount as Pavaza.
The team of the year award of N.dollars 100 000 was given to Namibia’s under-20 Rugby squad team while Charlize van Zyl and Delano Muller were named junior sportswoman and sportsman of the year respectively and received N.dollars 50 000 each.
Lahja Ishitile and Johannes Nambala were named sportswoman and sportsman of the year with disability and each got N.dollars 100 000 each, while Netball was given the development programme of the year award for their coaches and umpires' development programmea and each received N.dollars 100 000.
Olivia Iyambo was named junior sportswoman with disability while Deon Jansen walked away with junior sports person with disability and each received N.dollars 30 000.
The awards were held under the theme ‘Celebrating our sports heroes of yesterday and today’.
The 14th instalment of the annual awards was sponsored by MTC, Nampower, Tafel Lager, Namibia Broadcasting Corporation, Radio Energy and Confidénte Newspaper.