Nam to introduce Single Window System at borders

26 Oct 2017 19:20pm
WINDHOEK, 26 OCT (NAMPA) – Government will soon introduce a Single Window System to be called the ‘Namibia Window System’ at all its borders aimed at minimising the inconvenience experienced by customers.
Minister of Information and Communication Technology (ICT), Tjekero Tweya said at a media conference here Thursday, Cabinet directed the Ministry of Industrialisation, Trade and Small and Medium Enterprises (SME) Development and the Namibia Ports Authority (Namport) to work out the modalities to fast-track the implementation of that system, to be hosted by Namport.
He explained that currently, people are sent from one desk to another for services at the borders, which creates an inconvenience.
“The Single Window System will make sure that when you enter there you can deposit there everything. The system will channel all different services there and customers will be served all at once,” Tweya noted.
Meanwhile, Cabinet also endorsed the appointment of eight members to the Board of Directors of the Namibia Film Commission for a term of three years.
They are Joel Haikali as chairperson, Nelao Haukongo (vice-chairperson), Ziegi Willemse, Mirinda Stein, Uatirohange Tjiuoro, Katrina Diedericks, Mutaleni Nadimi and Toucy Tjijombo.