Two centres of power are divisive: Iipinge

25 Oct 2017 18:50pm
WINDHOEK, 25 OCT (NAMPA) – Three wings of the ruling Swapo party on Wednesday expressed contempt at what they described as the “two centres of power” within the party that are competing for the party presidency.
The three wings that packed the conference room at the Swapo party headquarters are the Swapo Party Elders Council, Swapo Party Women’s Council (SPWC) and Swapo Party Youth League (SPYL).
The “two centres of power” were in reference to President Hage Geingob on the one hand and former Prime Minister Nahas Angula and Minister of Youth, Sport and National Service, Jerry Ekandjo on the other, with all three contesting for the Swapo presidency.
According to those in the know, this is the first time in the history of the Swapo Party that this position will be contested for.
Reading the statement on behalf of the organs, secretary of SPWC, Eunice Iipinge, said where it has happened in history, it was not a good experience and they urged the leaders to shun such divisive politics.
She described the two centres as hostile to forging a united Swapo party.
The wings said they are behind Geingob who is currently the State President.
“This is the principle of Swapo Party as established by the founding president and former president hence we are calling on all our delegates to the congress to support and vote for only one president for the party and for the country, which is His Excellency, Dr. Hage Geingob and his identified team which he can work with,” the statement reads.
At a recent politburo meeting held in Windhoek, Geingob announced his top team in the party with Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of International Affairs, Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah as his choice for vice president.
His list also includes Minister of Urban and Rural Development, Sophia Shaningwa, for Secretary-General (SG) and former Deputy Prime Minister and Swapo party school rector, Marco Hausiku, for the position of deputy Secretary General.
The wings urged party members to support the president and the incoming team as one party, one president, and one country so that they can face their political rivals at the ballot box for the Presidential and National Elections in 2019 as a united party.