Paralympic athletes to be rewarded for Rio performance

19 Oct 2017 15:00pm
WINDHOEK, 19 OCT (NAMPA) – The Ministry of Sports, Youth and National Service will on Friday reward athletes who brought back medals from the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Ananias Shikongo and Johannes Nambala won five medals; the most won at any Paralympic event since the Namibia National Paralympic Committee (NPC) joined the International Paralympic Committee in 1999.
Nambala won two silvers in the men’s T13 100 metre (m) and 400m, while Shikongo won a gold and two bronze medals in the men’s T11 200m, 100m, and 400m.
Also to be rewarded are their coach Michael Hamukwaya and Shikongo's guides - Even Tjiviju and Sem Shimanda.
They will receive medals and monetary rewards.
Other athletes who represented Namibia at the 2016 Paralympics are Martin Aloysius (long jump and 4x100 relay); Johanna Benson (100m, 200m and long jump); Ruben Soroseb (power lifting) and Elias Ndimulunde (100m).
Also competing were Tobias Moses (200m and 4x100m relay); Lahja Ishitile (100m, 200m and 400m) and Gideon Nasilowski (swimming), while Andre Oberholster was Moses’s guide and David Ndailenge, Ishitile’s guide.
Speaking to Nampa on Thursday, Deputy Minister Agnes Tjongarero said they have finally managed to get the funds to honour the athletes who did the country proud.
Namibia Sports Commission Chief Administrator, Freddy Mwiya said without a reward policy in place, it is difficult for Government to reward athletes.
“Our reward policy is still in the final stages of being implemented, but we are happy that we managed to get something small to give these athletes to say thank you for flying the national flag high,” said Mwiya.