Kavektora elected SADC Public Accounts Committees chairperson

13 Oct 2017 17:50pm
WINDHOEK, 13 OCT (NAMPA) - Member of Parliament (MP) Mike Kavekotora has been elected as chairperson for the Southern African Development Community Organisation of Public Accounts Committees (SADCOPAC) for the next three years.
He was nominated to take over from South Africa’s Ntabiseng Khunou, during the SADCOPAC’s 13th annual conference and 14th Annual General Meeting in Maputo, Mozambique which started on Monday and ends on Saturday.
Kavekotora is currently the chairperson of the National Assembly (NA)'s Standing Committee on Public Accounts.
In a statement issued on Friday, Senior Information Officer for the National Assembly (NA), Ndahafa Kaukungwa said the meeting in Mozambique is being held under the theme: ‘Effective Parliament Financial Oversight to Ensure Transparency and Control of the Public Financial System’.
The SADCOPAC membership comprises MPs serving on their countries’ respective standing committees on public accounts.
The countries represented are Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Mauritius, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
SADCOPAC was established in 2003 as an autonomous and independent association of Public Accounts Committees from SADC states to promote mutual support and foster the exchange of ideas, knowledge and experience.
The SADC body also acts as a recognised voice of public accounts committees within the SADC community; and promotes accountability, good governance and transparency in SADC states.
Kavekotora will chair the SADCOPAC which is mandated to work with SADC governments in meeting the people’s expectations through sound and accountable governance.