NCRST appoints second board of commissioners

12 Oct 2017 14:40pm
WINDHOEK, 12 OCT (NAMPA) – The second board of commissioners of the National Commission on Research, Science and Technology (NCRST) have been tasked to carry out their duties with fairness, transparency and integrity.
The commissioners are Riaan Steenkamp; Graca Bauleth D’Almeida; Tshali Iithete; Elly Hamunyela; Mirriam Sezuni; Patience Saushini; Johannes Ashipala; Ivonne Mujoro-Kaukuetu; Joshua Kaumbi; Johanna Andowa; Benjamin Katjipuka and Sylvia Demas.
Nortin Titus and Josephine Joste Haubas will serve as the chairperson and vice chairperson, respectively.
Announcing their appointment on Thursday, Minister of Higher Education, Training and Innovation Itah Kandjii-Murangi said appointing the new commissioners required finding experts in various fields to ensure maximum research.
The NCRST is responsible for ensuring the co-ordination, monitoring and supervision of the research, science and technology in the country.
It also promotes common ground research, scientific and technological thinking across all disciplines.
Kandjii-Murangi said the NCRST is not a research agent, but its role is to collaborate with other institutions to facilitate research in the country.
She also emphasised the importance of research capacity development by training more researchers to address specific issues including national challenges in trade, mining, housing, unemployment, food security and water shortages.
The minister called on the new commissioners to streamline the functions of the commission, listen and be receptive to the various needs from different sectors, whilst familiarising themselves the Fifth National Development Plan and the Harambee Prosperity Plan.
The new commissioners were appointed for three years, effective as from 12 October 2017.