Swapo’s Otjiwarongo district elects office bearers

04 Oct 2017 12:10pm
OTJIWARONGO, 04 OCT (NAMPA) – Members of the Swapo party’s Otjiwarongo district on Tuesday elected new office bearers and delegates to the party’s national congress.
The exercise, aimed at restructuring the district leadership, was originally scheduled to take place before 02 July 2017 for its new members to participate in the regional congress that took place at the Waterberg Plateau Park on 03 July this year. The conference was, however, delayed by internal conflicts.
Swapo’s Otjozondjupa Regional Co-ordinator, Susan Hikopua told Nampa on enquiry Wednesday that Carlos Josef was elected new district co-ordinator, taking over from the late Jefta Veripi Kasuto who died in September 2016.
Maria Kambonde is the new mobiliser, a position that was occupied by Otjozondjupa Regional Governor, Otto Ipinge.
Former Otjiwarongo Mayor, Hilda Jesaja is the treasurer.
Hikopua said Jesaja, Tusnelda Kamatui, Otjiwarongo Mayor Bennes Haimbondi, and Paulus Nekundi were elected as delegates to the national congress set for 25 and 26 November in Windhoek.
The Otjozondjupa Region has seven districts: Okahandja, Okakarara, Otjiwarongo, Otavi, Grootfontein, Omatako and Tsumkwe.
At regional level, Hikopua is the co-ordinator, Clive Kavendji regional mobiliser and Patrick Goagub treasurer.
Itah Kandjii-Murangi, Juliet Kavetuna, Tobie Aupindi, Erickson Nenghwanya and Kaino Dawid are the region’s candidates for the Swapo Central Committee.