Omusati the undefeated Skorpion Zinc Cup champions

10 Sep 2017 17:50pm
WINDHOEK, 10 SEP (NAMPA) – Omusati were on Sunday crowned champions of the Skorpion Zinc Cup Under-17 for the third time in a row after humbling Erongo Region 4-2 in the final of the youth competition.
The youth championship was held in Windhoek at the Sam Nujoma stadium and the Namibia Football Association technical centre from Friday to Sunday and saw 14 regional teams compete.
In the final at the Sam Nujoma Stadium, it took less than two minutes for Omusati to get on the score sheet thanks to a brilliant goal by Timotheus Petrus. The boys from the coastal towns of Namibia replied in the 13th minute, with Dario Gorases equalising for them.
Despite Erongo having most of the possession in the game, Omusati had their opponents behind their backs in the 22nd minute, with an Erongo defender handling the ball in the box which led to a penalty being awarded to Omusati.
Willem Elia slotted from the spot to give his side the lead once again. Elias put another nail in the Erongo coffin in the 25th minute with his individual brilliance and scored his second goal of the game after beating the defender and goalkeeper for Omusati’s third goal of the game.
The half time score was 3-1 for Omusati.
In the second half, Erongo brought on their goal poacher Leighton McCarty who took less than four minutes to bring down the margin after a moment of brilliance saw his goal in the back of the net.
McCarty’s goal woke the defending champions up and made Erongo’s dreams of lifting the trophy impossible with their fourth goal of the match through Shiimi Matheus.
The final score was 4-2 in favour of Omusati, who have lifted the trophy twice before - in 2014 and 2015. Due to lack of sponsorship the competition was put on hold in 2016.
In other matches played earlier Kavango West took third place after humiliating their neighbours Kavango East with a 4-0 defeat.
Erongo’s Prince Tjiueza won the Player of the Tournament award, while Kavango East walked away with the Fair Play award.
Omusati’s Aron Nghitengeluwa won the Goalkeeper of the Tournament award, while his teammate Elia Willem won the Top Goal Scorer award with eight goals.
The Match Official of the Tournament Award went to Petrus Amutenya.
Ninety-eight goals were scored over the three days.