Groot Aub officially taken over by CoW

08 Sep 2017 18:50pm
WINDHOEK, 08 SEP (NAMPA) – Groot Aub was officially taken over by the City of Windhoek (CoW) on Friday.
Minister of Urban and Rural Development, Sophia Shaningwa presided over the handing-over ceremony.
This, according to the minister, means a change of administrative status of Groot Aub from being a settlement under the administration of the Khomas Regional Council to being a township under the jurisdiction and administration of the CoW as provided for by the Local Authorities Act of 1992.
Government, according to Shaningwa, received numerous complaints from the residents to help out with the problems mainly eminating from the growth in population at this settlement.
Water shortages which were reaching crisis point and exacerbated by illegal connections; land grabbing or illegal allocation and occupation of land and erection of illegal structures; lack of proper solid and liquid waste disposal and management systems and illegal mining, as well as other economic activities are some of the complaints raised by residents here.
“In order to have the situation arrested, the government took a decision to incorporate Groot Aub into the boundaries of Windhoek,” explained Shaningwa.
As a symbol of the official transfer of the power of administration of Groot Aub to the CoW, the minister handed over the two original land titles of Groot Aub to the Deputy Mayor of Windhoek, Fransina Kahungu, who stood in for the mayor, Muesee Kazapua.
Kahungu told Nampa the taking over of Groot Aub by the CoW has a chain of benefits for the residents such as development, job creation and other services, while it will increase rates and taxes for the CoW.
She however urged those in the positions of responsibility to work hard to make the desired change visible.
Some residents who spoke to this news agency about how they feel about the administrative transfer said it will help with the correction of most of the issues of concern at the former settlement.
Groot Aub is not the only settlement that was incorporated into the municipal boundaries of the CoW.
Areas such as Omeya, Finkenstein, Herbothsblick and Sungate, which were previously outside the municipal boundary of Windhoek, were also included.