Nekongo calls for unity among SPYL leaders

07 Sep 2017 19:20pm
WINDHOEK, 07 SEP (NAMPA) – Swapo-Party Youth League (SPYL) Secretary Ephraim Nekongo has called for unity among the new members of its Central Committee (CC).
Speaking during the opening of the league’s CC meeting on Thursday, Nekongo said it is only through unity and collective leadership that the league could move forward.
He vowed to ensure the SPYL’s leadership devotes its energy on tackling the many challenges affecting the youth in the country.
Nekongo said the SPYL leadership will implement resolutions passed during its sixth congress held in Katima Mulilo, Zambezi Region last month.
The 56 members of the CC members were elected at the same conference.
Meanwhile, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah encouraged the new SPYL CC members to provide leadership selflessly.
She said during the same meeting that the CC members, as leaders, have a responsibility towards the wellbeing of Namibians.
“What you do has an impact on the lives of every Namibian,” she said.
Nandi-Ndaitwah said while serving the nation, the youth leaders should remember that as political leaders, they have to forego some of their personal rights in order to have a healthy relationship with other generations.
Nekongo, as SPYL Secretary, then announced five youth league members as additional members to the CC.
They are Sharonice Busch (Khomas); Rehabeam Iyambo (Oshana); Julius Gaseb (Oshikoto); Amutse Abel (Omusati) and Christine Maalwa (Kavango East).
The league will on Thursday elect 11 members for its National Executive Committee plus 16 delegates to the Swapo Congress slated for November, and four nominees to the CC of the mother body.