NSC launches 2017 Sports Awards

24 Aug 2017 14:10pm
WINDHOEK, 24 AUG (NAMPA) – The 2017 Mobile Telecommunications Limited (MTC) and Namibia Sports Commission (NSC) Sports Awards were officially launched on Thursday in Windhoek.
Speaking at a media briefing in Windhoek, chairperson of the NSC Joel Mathews said this year’s theme is ‘Celebrating our sporting heroes of yesterday and today’.
The award ceremony will take place on 27 October 2017 at the Windhoek Country Club Resorts and Casino.
Mathews said MTC will continue as title sponsors of the event while the Namibia Broadcasting Corporation and The Namibian newspaper will be media partners.
Other sponsors include Namibia Breweries Limited and NamPower.
“We are excited about this year’s awards and call upon the federations to submit their best performing athletes, and avoid victimising athletes while ensuring that all (athletes) of them are given a fair chance,” Mathews said.
Chairperson of the marketing committee, Commissioner Monica Shapwa revealed that this year, there will be 15 awards handed out down from 22 last year.
This was because some sporting categories last year did not garner enough nominees while the organisers are also aligning the awards with regional standards.
“The African Union Sports Commission Regional Annual Sport Awards has 15 categories, so it only makes sense that we align ourselves with the regional awards,” said Shapwa.
“These awards are there to honour and recognise individuals and teams who have excelled both on and off the field from 01 October 2016 to 31 August 2017,” Shapwa said.
She further called on companies to come board as some awards still do not have sponsors up to date.
“These are Coach of the year; Umpire/referee of the year; Sports journalist of the year and Development programme of the year. Any company out there willing to sponsor any of the categories can contact our office.”
Prize money for the winners will be announced during the nomination ceremony.

Below are the categories:
1.MTC Sports Star of the year
2.MTC Sportsman of the year
3.MTC Sportswoman of the year
4.NamPower Sportsman of the year with a disability
5.NamPower Sportswoman of the year with a disability
6.MTC Junior Sportsman of the year
7.MTC Junior Sportswoman of the year
8.NamPower Junior Sportsman of the year with a disability
9.NamPower Junior Sportswoman of the year with a disability
10.Tafel Lager Sports Team of the year
11.Coach of the Year
12.Umpire/ referee of the year
13.Sports journalist of the year
14.Development programme of the year
15.Namibia Sports Commission Honorary Award

This will be the 13th successive year that the NSC is holding the awards.