Male netball team to feature at Pent Series

22 Aug 2017 17:20pm
WINDHOEK, 22 AUG (NAMPA) – The national senior male netball team “Namib Gems” is ready and looking forward to making their debut at the first ever Netball Pent Series to be hosted in the capital next month.
The Pent Series which will feature Zimbabwe, Zambia, Namibia, Botswana and Swaziland will be played from 6 to 9 September.
The Namibia national senior women netball team will use this competition to boost its ranking and expose its players to more international competitions.
Namib Gems will play a curtain raiser match at the championship against their B side on the opening day of the competition.
Speaking to Nampa over the weekend during the Netball Namibia umpires training that was held at Trustco United Netball court in Olympia from Friday to Sunday, Namib Gems captain Conny Samaria said competing at the championship will be good for their team which is being revived.
“We had a male national netball team which represented the country in Malawi in 2014 and also competed in other competitions in Lesotho but after that the team just died”
He said competing at the Pent Series will be a good motivation for the players as they are looking forward to reviving the team and start being competitive again.
He added that players who will compete at the Pent Series were selected from different regions in the country but as a team they were still looking forward to developing more male netball teams all over the country.
“We are currently training with our senior national female netball team and we feel ready to showcase our talent during the Pent Series.”
Samaria said the team players were selected during the national trials from //Kharas, Hardap, Khomas, Otjozondjupa, and Kunene regions.
The Pent Series are part of a sponsorship by Debmarine Namibia to Netball Namibia. They recently signed a three-year sponsorship worth N.dollars 1.8 million.
The national senior male team players are: Conny Samaria (goal shooter), Richard Alcock (goal attack), Pius Uiseb (wing attack), Gerry Isaacs (centre), Teri Tuaire (goalkeeper), Nelly Genisis (goal defence) and George Uries (wing defence). Other team members are; Ambrosuis Eichab and Mbaha Mbuende.