SADC membership expansion on summit agenda

19 Aug 2017 10:40am
WINDHOEK, 19 AUG (NAMPA) - Expansion of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) to accommodate the Comoros and Burundi is the top agenda of the upcoming 37th SADC Summit in Pretoria, South Africa.
This follows applications by the two States to join the regional bloc.
The Comoros is an island situated off the East coast of Africa, while Burundi is landlocked, bordering Tanzania and the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).
SADC currently comprises 15 member states: Angola, Botswana, DRC, Lesotho, Malawi, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
According to a report by Southern African News Features on Friday, the island and landlocked states have for the past few years expressed interest in joining the union.
The report reads that close cooperation among member states has seen the region achieve a number of milestones aimed at advancing political freedom into broader socio-economic independence that ensures improved living standards for its people.
Also expected on the summit’s agenda is Namibia’s nomination for SADC deputy chairing, while South Africa will be sworn in as the new SADC chair.
The summit, taking place Saturday and Sunday, was preceded by the SADC Council of Ministers meeting from 15 to 17 August 2017.
President Hage Geingob this week left to attend the regional summit.