Swapo readies for fresh elective conference in Omaheke

16 Aug 2017 12:40pm
GOBABIS, 16 AUG (NAMPA) – The Swapo-Party in the Omaheke Region will on Saturday convene a fresh regional elective conference.
The conference will be preceded by repeat party district conferences in three districts whose previous election results were disputed.
The districts are Otjombinde, Otjinene and Aminuis.
Otjombinde and Otjinene have in the meantime already concluded their repeat district conferences last week, and Aminuis is expected to convene on Wednesday and Thursday for the same purpose.
This follows a directive from the party's politburo, which two weeks ago ruled that there were some irregularities in the initial district conferences in these three districts.
A team of top seated Swapo party leaders visited the region shortly after the disputed initial district conferences held between June and July to verify the outcome of such results, and found that the elections for portfolios were not properly conducted.
As such, all previous election results in Otjombinde, Aminuis and Otjinene districts were nullified and new elective conferences were ordered by the Swapo party politburo.
The results of district conferences in Kalahari, Epukiro and Gobabis were accepted as no irregularities were observed.
The team included former Speaker of the National Assembly Theo-Ben Gurirab, erstwhile Deputy Prime Ministers Libertine Amadhila and Marco Hausiku; and Education, Arts and Culture Minister Katrina Hanse-Himarwa.
The same team will also be present in Omaheke and will monitor and observe the fresh elective district conferences.
An extra-ordinary conference will be held for Okorukambe district on Friday to elect four delegates to the regional conference, and another four to the party congress scheduled for end of November.
Incumbent Swapo Party Regional Coordinator for Omaheke, Kejamuina Mungendje said the process is expected to go smooth with the presence of the verification team.
“All is in order and we are ready to take the process forward and complete it as per schedule,” Mungendje said on Wednesday.
Swapo party regional districts in Omaheke are divided according to the country's political constituencies and they are Aminuis, Otjinene, Otjombinde, Okorukambe, Epukiro, Kalahari and Gobabis.
Each district however has several sections that make up its district leadership.