Okahandja to host Mannes Hendrick Open Soccer and Netball Tournament

13 Aug 2017 12:00pm
REHOBOTH, 13 AUG (NAMPA) – The first-ever Mannes Hendricks Open Soccer and Netball Tournament will be held at Okahandja on 26 and 27 August 2017.
The tournament is sponsored by Nationwide Airconditioning and Refrigeration to the tune of N.dollars 120 000 and is open to all teams, irrespective of league affiliation.
Speaking to Nampa on Friday, organising committee member Prince Lee Hangula said the tournament will raise funds to help set up a football academy for the Okahandja Football Club to groom youngsters in the sports code.
Hangula said not many people in Okahandja are willing to invest in football.
“People like Mannes Hendrick, who is the main sponsor of the tournament through his company, and our Mayor Johannes Congo Hindjou, along with Luka Optics and Okahandja Engen Service Station usually create a platform by organising tournaments to groom the boys and unearth raw talent,” said Hangula.
He said three boys from the garden town who were groomed in tournaments such as these are now part of the Under-17 national team.
“We have players like Tjihuro Mbinaune, Oabasen Fanuel Kariseb and Samuel Gamgoaseb who have developed through grassroots tournaments and were selected to be part of the national youth teams,” Hangula noted.
The tournament is restricted to 32 football teams.
“The first 32 teams to register and pay the full registration fees will be considered,” Hangula said.
The winning team in the football category will receive N.dollars 50 000, with the final loser walking away with N.dollars 25 000. Semi-final losers will each receive N.dollars 12 500.
The registration fee per football team is N.dollars 3 500.
In the netball category, the winning team will receive N.dollars 10 000 and runner-up, N.dollars 5 000.
The semi-final losers will each get N.dollars 2 500 for their efforts.
The registration fee per netball team is N.dollars 1 200.
The draw will take place on 23 August in the Nationwide Airconditioning and Refrigeration boardroom.
The games will take place at the Okahandja Stadium and JG Van der Wath Sports Stadium.