“Don't allow Zimbabwe to celebrate Cosafa win in Namibia”: Mannetti

13 Jul 2017 15:20pm
WINDHOEK, 13 JUL (NAMPA) - Brave Warriors coach Ricardo Mannetti has named the match-day 18 to face Zimbabwe in the 2018 Africa Nations Championships (Chan) second round, first leg clash at the Sam Nujoma Stadium on Sunday.
Announcing the team at Football House on Thursday, Mannetti called on Namibians to fill up the stadium and support the home side.
“We can’t allow Zimbabwe to come and celebrate their Cosafa victory on our home turf,” Mannetti said.
Zimbabwe beat Zambia by three goals to one in the final of the 2017 Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) Castle Cup last Sunday.
Mannetti said the players need everyone’s support as they have not played football for 15 months.
“With the crowd behind them, they can work their socks off,” he said.
Mannetti said it is going to be tough against Zimbabwe and his team has to “die” on the pitch to get a good result.
The second leg of the tie will be played in Harare, Zimbabwe next Sunday.
He said Zimbabwe have three teams: one for Chan, one for the Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) and one for the Cosafa Cup.
“They are simply spoilt for choice and now they have strengthened their Cosafa team with players from CAPS (Central African Pharmaceutical Society) United who played Confederation of African Football (CAF) Champions league football last week,” Mannetti said.
He said it will be a tough game.
“It will be active league against non-active league players and there our players have to play like they have not played before,” he stated.
Mannetti, who steered his team to win the Cosafa Cup in 2015, said he was positive that his players will do the job at home.
“I don’t know what will happen in the second leg, we have to do the job at home and we have proven over time to create chances and we now hope we can find the back of the net on Sunday,” he said.
He added that a player like Hendrick Somaeb is a finisher and will start on Sunday.
“I hope he can score for us,” Mannetti said.
The players are: Lodyt Kazapua, Edward Maova, Tiberius Lombard, Charles Hambira, Ferdinand Karongee, Riaan Hanamub, Larry Horaeb, Edmund Kambanda, Ronald Ketjijere (captain), Dynamo Fredericks, Immanuel Heita, Benyamin Nenkavu, Petrus Shitembi, Absalom Iimbondi, Itamunua Keimuine, Hendrick Somaeb, Roger Katjiteo and Muna Katupose.