Namibians to benefit from lecture series on international relations

12 Jul 2017 14:10pm
GOBABIS, 12 JUL ( NAMPA) - The Ministry of International Relations and Cooperation (MIRCO) will soon introduce lecture series aimed at informing and engaging the public on contemporary global events.
Delivering a parliamentary statement on the outcome of the Foreign Policy Review Conference of 2016 on Tuesday, line minister Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah said the series will be launched by President Hage Geingob on a date yet to be confirmed.
The ‘Dr. Theo-Ben Gurirab Lecture Series’, named after the country’s first Minister of Foreign Affairs and 54th President of the United Nations General Assembly, will be held countrywide.
Nandi-Ndaitwah said the idea was motivated by the overarching interests of the public, especially the youth and academia, in activities concerning international relations.
“The purpose of the lecture series is to encourage the public to be involved in shaping policy on international relations, in relation to Namibia’s development agenda,” Nandi-Ndaitwah said.
Such development agenda is defined in the country’s Vision 2030, National Development Plans, Swapo-party Election Manifesto, Harambee Prosperity Plan, and complemented by the African Union’s Africa Agenda 2063 and the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) 2030.
The lecture series will provide an opportunity to reflect on how best the country can continue to effectively serve the interests of the Namibian people, as well as the promotion of the country’s values through its active international engagements.
Presenters will be drawn from Government, including senior management within MIRCO, Association of Former Ambassadors, and various sectors of society such as academia, civil society, private sector, political parties, youth representatives, diplomatic corps and where possible, international experts.
The series will be held on a quarterly basis, and it is expected that the venue for the series will rotate to include university campuses in the south, north-eastern and northern regions.