Ngurare fails to make Swapo CC and congress lists

09 Jul 2017 16:10pm
By Sawi Hausiku
RUNDU, 09 JUL (NAMPA) – Former Swapo Party Youth League (SPYL) Secretary, Elijah Ngurare will not be representing the Kavango West Region on the Swapo Central Committee (CC) or the Party's Elective Congress later this year.
Ngurare, who was nominated by the Nkurenkuru District, only managed to garner one vote during the party's regional conference that took place here on Saturday.
The Party's Regional Coordinator, Dawid Hamutenya Hipulwa told Nampa on Sunday that none of the delegates who hail from the same district as Ngurare even voted for him.
“The only vote he got is that of himself,” Hipulwa said.
The coordinator explained that only the position of Regional Treasurer was up for election and that the rest of the candidates remained in their positions, including himself (Hipulwa).
The position of Regional Treasurer was won by Joseph Kandjimi with 29 votes out of the 61 delegates that attended the conference.
Mpasi Haingura, who also contested for the position, managed to get 26 votes whilst Daniel Muti only got 6 votes.
All other Swapo Party Kavango West Regional leaders including the Swapo Party Regional Coordinator, Hamutenya will remain in their positions until the next elections in 2022.
Meanwhile, the regional leadership also elected four candidates for the Swapo Central Committee as well as to the party’s elective congress later in November this year.
These candidates are, Governor of the Kavango West Region Sirkka Ausiku who got 19 votes and Ncuncuni Constituency Councillor Rosa Kavara, who got 10 votes.
Member of Parliament (MP), Hamunyera Hambyuka got 18 votes whilst Chairperson of the Kavango West Regional Council, Joseph Sivaku got 20 votes.
Sources close to this agency said that all candidates will support Hage Geingob at the Swapo Congress.
Swapo Party leaders assigned to Kavango West Region are, Swapo Party School Rector Marco Hausiku, Deputy Minister of Safety and Security Daniel Kashikola, MP Marina Kandumbu, Minister of Youth, National Service, Sport and Culture Jerry Ekandjo, Deputy Minister of Agriculture, Water and Forestry Anna Shiwedha and Former MP Rosalia Nghidinwa.
Hipulwa said the results will be sent to the Swapo Party Headquarters for vetting.