Swapo Khomas leaders retain positions

03 Jul 2017 18:30pm
WINDHOEK, 03 JUL (NAMPA) – All Swapo Party Khomas regional leaders on Saturday retained their positions in a regional election.
Swapo Party Regional Coordinator, Elliot Dhimbulukwa Mbako won with 55 votes and will be in that position for a second term after taking over from Godhardt Kasuto in 2015.
Contenders Liinekela Tsoubaroko garnered 27 votes while Moses Shikwa got four votes.
Regional Information and Mobilisation Secretary, Meriam Onesmus retained her position with 37 votes and has been in it since 2015 after Sacky Shanghala.
Cornelia Engelbrecht and Matilde Ukeva lost the position with 24 and 23 votes respectively.
Regional Treasurer Martha Namundjebo-Tilahun also retained her position for the third term, with 52 votes.
Contender Martina Kaali Shipanga lost with 33 votes.
The ruling party’s regional leaders will serve for the next five years.