Hikopua retains position as Swapo's Otjozondjupa coordinator

03 Jul 2017 12:20pm
OTJIWARONGO, 03 JUL (NAMPA) – Swapo’s Otjozondjupa Region co-ordinator, Susan Hikopua retained her position when she got the majority of the votes at the regional conference that took place at the Waterberg Plateau Park on Sunday.
Thirty-nine delegates from six party districts - Okahandja, Okakarara, Otavi, Grootfontein, Omatako and Tsumkwe - attended the conference.
Delegates from the Otjiwarongo Swapo-Party district did not attend or provide any explanation for their failure to show up, Hikopua told Nampa.
Hikopua received 31 votes, while Paulus Nekundi who also contested the position obtained eight votes.
Clive Kavendjii was elected regional mobiliser uncontested after Betuel Tjaveondja from the Okahandja district withdrew last minute.
Patrick Goagub is the new party treasurer for the region as he received 25 votes, while George Garab received 14 votes for the same position.
The conference also nominated Itah Kandjii-Murangi, Juliet Kavetuna, Tobie Aupindi, Erickson Nenghwanya and Kaino Dawid as candidates for the Swapo Central Committee.
Moses Hikopua, the Omatako District Coordinator and Helena Haoses, the district’s mobiliser, were nominated to represent the region at the national Swapo-Party Congress expected in November this year.
Six political national leaders assigned to Otjozondjupa - Immanuel Ngatjizeko (chairperson), Professor Peter Katjavivi, Juliet Kavetuna, Natangwe Ithete, Itah Kandjii-Murangi and Leon Jooste oversaw the activities of Sunday’s conference.
Chairperson of the national political leaders assigned to the region, Ngatjizeko shortly after the activities declared that it was held in a democratic, transparent and healthy manner.