Ambunda is Namibia's Top Sport Achiever of 2013

27 Oct 2013 11:00am
WINDHOEK, 27 OCT (NAMPA) - Paulus ‘The Rock’ Ambunda was announced as the Top Sport Achiever of 2013 during the Mobile Telecommunications Limited (MTC)/Namibia Sports Commission (NSC) Sports Awards here on Friday.
Ambunda was recognised for his numerous achievements and participation in boxing over the past year, and won a trophy and N.dollars 100 000.
Paralympian athlete Johanna Benson won a trophy and N.dollars 50 000 as the top Disabled Sportswoman of the Year, while athlete Martin Amutenya was named Disabled Sportsman of the Year.
Paulus ‘The Hitman’ Moses is the Sportsman of the Year, and Tjipekapora Herunga Sportswoman of the Year, both winning N.dollars 50 000.
The Junior Sportsman of the Year award went to swimmer Lushano Lambrecht, while the Junior Sportswoman of the Year award went to Zandre Oberholzer who is also a swimmer. They won N.dollars 30 000 each.
The Disabled Junior Sportsman award was shared by athletes Itemba Elia and Aihuki Eliakim, while the Disabled Junior Sportswoman of the year was Lahja Ishitile (also for athletics).
An award also went to the Sports Journalist of the Year, who was Hector Mawonga from local English daily the Namibian Sun.
Most Improved Sportsperson of the Year was Paul Seibeb, a football player, who won N.dollars 20 000.
Nestor Tobias of the Nestor Tobias Boxing and Fitness Academy was named Coach of the Year and Timo Haikonda (boxing) Umpire/Referee of the Year. Both won N.dollars 20 000.
The 2013 MTC/NSC also recognised the Volunteer of the Year. This prize was won by Marie Jeanne Ndimbira. The Namibia Tennis Association was named the Development Programme of the Year.
The awards ceremony was held under the theme ‘From Locker Room to Boardroom’, and cash prices worth N.dollars 550 000 were given away – a huge increase from last year’s total cash prizes of N.dollars 105 000.
MTC was the official sponsor of the Sports Awards with a total sponsorship of N.dollars 200 000. Other sponsors were Hollard Insurance (N.dollars 160 000); Coca-Cola (N.dollars 60 000); Distell Namibia (N.dollars 15 000); and the NSC (N.dollars 115 000).