First leg Old Mutual Victory Race in Oshakati

11 Jun 2017 14:10pm
OSHAKATI, 11 JUN (NAMP) – The 2017 Old Mutual Victory Race Series on Saturday declared Kefas Kondjashili and Helalia Johannes as the overall winners of the first leg held at Oshakati in the Oshana Region.
Kondjashili and Johannes are overall winners in the men’s and women’s category respectively.
Some 73 entries for 21 kilometres (km) and over 1 000 entries for 5km were recorded.
Kondjashili finished the 21km race in 01:06:58 and Johannes completed the same distance in 01:15:16.
Both athletes told Nampa after the race they could not improve on their time because there was no tough competition in the race.
“I could not improve on my previous time of 01:09:00 that I set during the 2013 Victory Race at Swakopmund in the Erongo Region, because of no strong challenger,” said Johannes adding she was running alone ahead of everyone from the beginning of Saturday’s race.
Kondjashili said he also ran alone for most of the race as his mates only managed to stay with him in the first 2km of their race.
“I am participating for the first time in the 21km race, apart from being victorious in the 5km men category of all the legs from Oshakati, Keetmanshoop, Swakopmund and Windhoek last year,” said Kondjashili.
Nawa Uveni followed Kondjashili with 01:08:13 and Leonard Namupala was third in a time of 01:08:16.
In the women’s category, Ottlie Haimwata followed Johannes with a time of 01:25:17 and Sofia Nambabi came third with a time of 01:30:38.
Joshua ‘Bravo’ Hangula, 63, was the eldest athlete and he participated in the 5km race.
Also featured in the 5km race for the third consecutive year are people with disabilities from the Oshana Heroes Sport Club and Eluwa Special School.
Old Mutual Manager for Communications and Transformation, Ilke Akwenye said after Oshakati, the second leg will be held in Walvis Bay, Erongo Region.
The third leg will be in Keetmanshoop, //Karas Region and the final leg will be in Windhoek, Khomas Region.