SPYL in full support of Geingob as party president

14 May 2017 17:50pm
WINDHOEK, 14 MAY (NAMPA) – The Swapo Party Youth League (SPYL) will maintain its full support towards President Hage Geingob for party president says SPYL acting Secretary, Veikko Nekundi.
Nekundi made the announcement at a media briefing on the outcome of the league’s Central Committee meeting here on Saturday.
He said the SPYL Central Committee in its deliberations on the upcoming election of the Swapo party president; agreed to endorse the one centre of power in respect of the presidency, President Hage Geingob.
“The CC will endorse the position of the president to be uncontested in order to preserve unity and continuity of our party and Government,” said Nekundi.
Geingob became the party’s acting president after former president Hifikepunye Pohamba resigned as leader of the ruling party in April 2015.
Nekundi further emphasised the importance of mentoring and grooming young people, and exposing them to various positions in the party structure, Government, foreign missions and State Owned Enterprise (SOE) boards, to inspire leadership and corporate governance skills in them.
He said at least 40 per cent of the board members should be youth representatives.
Other outcomes of the meeting were a proposal to the party leadership to guard against a divisive tendency leading to the congress.
It also proposed a task team to be assembled to investigate leadership transition in sister countries.
In addition, the meeting indicated a concern of the continuation of exclusion of farmers in the Northern communal areas of the country and called on the Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Forestry to remove the Red Line.
Other conclusions reached include the adoption of 12 May, the birthday of the founding President Sam Nujoma as an official holiday in Namibia to acknowledge his contribution to the development and progress of Namibia.
The Swapo Party congress is slated for late November this year where the party will vote for its next president and other party leaders.