Eight NPL clubs confirm Debmarine Cup participation

12 Apr 2017 18:10pm
WINDHOEK, 12 APR (NAMPA) - Eight Namibia Premier League (NPL) clubs have confirmed their availability for the last-32 of the Debmarine Namibia Cup, which is scheduled for next weekend.
The Debmarine Namibia Cup is organised by the Namibia Football Association (NFA).
Some of the top NPL clubs have expressed their intentions to boycott the last-32, citing a lack of sufficient preparation time and lack of game time at Premier League level.
On Wednesday, Tura Magic, Citizens, UNAM, Civics, Young Africa, Mighty Gunners, Eleven Arrows and Life Fighters confirmed their availability to compete in the tournament.
This was after the NFA on Tuesday wrote a letter to the NPL asking for official feedback after the football governing body requested the NPL to brief its members about the importance of competing in the tournament.
The NFA also stated in its letter to the NPL that its members should know that not participating in the competition will be a violation of Article 13.1 of the NFA statutes, which deals with members’ obligations.
The article stipulates that affiliated members should compete in NFA competitions.
Failure to do so will mean they are not complying with the statutes, regulations, directives and decisions of the International Federation of Football Associations, Confederation of African Football, Confederation of Southern African Football Associations and NFA.
Speaking to Nampa on Tuesday, NFA Secretary-General Barry Rukoro said the competition will continue with the teams that have confirmed their participation.
“I received confirmation from eight clubs and we are just waiting for Rundu Chiefs, who confirmed telephonically, to also write a letter then we know what teams will get their preparation and travelling allowances,” he said.
Rukoro said sponsors Debmarine have already asked for the names of the teams that have confirmed so they can start with the transferring of the funds.
He added that teams that have not confirmed their participation by the Wednesday deadline of 12h00 will be dealt with according to the NFA rules and regulations.
He also said the NFA executive will have to consider requests by teams who want to confirm their participation after the deadline.
The teams that did not confirm are African Stars, Black Africa, Orlando Pirates, Blue Waters, Young Chiefs, Tigers and Santos.